- Locksmith & Home Security Technician
- Getting a career diploma in as little as 5 months.
- Gain experience with practical exercises and interactive assignments.
- Learn how to identify, create, and duplicate keys.
- Learn to work with several types of locks including safes, valuts, and auto.
- and more...
In Oregon, the Construction Contractors Board (CCB) regulates licensing and business requirements for locksmiths.
As of July 1, 2010, the Oregon Legislature passed a law requiring locksmiths to be certified by CCB and hold a CCB contractor’s license.
An individual wanting to become a locksmith in Oregon must have:
- Not been convicted of a disqualifying crime (typically a felony)
- Submitted an application and fees to CCB (see more below)
- Passed the CCB test (see more below)
- Apply for a construction contractor license (or work for one)
- Follow standards of professional conduct
About the Test
The Locksmith Certification Test is an 80 question, open-book test. The CCB uses the “test to 100%” to determine a passing grade. This means in order to be certified you must answer all the exam questions correctly. It’s not as bad as it sounds though.
The CCB allows you to utilize the following references:
After your first attempt through the test, any questions answered incorrectly will be displayed on the screen at the end of the test. You will have the opportunity to change your answer using the review documents above.
The testing fee is $60 and only offered online.
The Application Process
The application for a locksmith certificate starts online at the following link.
It’s a very simple 7 step process.
- Register for an account online
- Select “Locksmith Certification” as the service
- Complete the application
- Pay for the application ($60) and the test ($60)
- Take the test we reviewed above
- Complete the “Criminal History Information” section
- Pay for the 2-year certification ($60)
Now that you’re certified you’ll need to become a licensed contractor or work for a licensed contractor.
You can find the licensing information here: https://www.oregon.gov/CCB/licensing/Pages/licensing.aspx
The steps to becoming licensed are pretty standard. Once you are certified you’ll be required to fill out the CCB licensing application ($32), provide proof of general liability insurance and other insurances, and provide your full business name and address.