- Locksmith & Home Security Technician
- Getting a career diploma in as little as 5 months.
- Gain experience with practical exercises and interactive assignments.
- Learn how to identify, create, and duplicate keys.
- Learn to work with several types of locks including safes, valuts, and auto.
- and more...
The state of Louisiana has some interesting rules when it comes to becoming a locksmith.
It is quite a bit simpler to be an employee of another locksmith firm (skip straight to Step 6 only), but this article will be focused on opening your own locksmith business. Most of the same rules apply.
In order to be an established locksmith in Lousiana, you are considered by the state to be in “life safety and property protection contracting.”
The following 6 steps are required to be submitted to the state fire marshal.
The Licensing Process
Submit and complete a firm application (in blue ink). The application can be found here: http://sfm.dps.louisiana.gov/doc/lic/PPE_Locksmith.pdf
The application should include a $250 money order to the Office of State Fire Marshal.
Documentation that the firm is licensed to conduct business in the state. This essentially means if you’re a corporation or incorporation you’ll need to provide your endorsed articles, otherwise as a sole proprietor, you’ll need to provide your employee ID number (EIN).
An original certificate of insurance greater than or equal to $500,000 in liability coverage is also required.
You will need a copy of a current driver’s license (front and back) and submit a fingerprint card completed by the local law enforcement agency. Once you have the fingerprint card you need to go to the following website and sign up for a background check.
This will cost $42.50.
Ensure you have one of the following:
- ALOA Certified Licensed Locksmith (CLL)
- ALOA Certified Registered Locksmith (CRL)
- ALOA Certified Professional Locksmith (CPL)
- ALOA Certified Master Locksmith (CML)
Be sure to read our article on becoming certified via ALOA by clicking here.
In addition to the above courses the following courses are also required:
- Fire Marshal Administrative Rules Course
- Fire Marshal Plan Review Course
- Life Safety Course
Step 6 (Employees Only Section)
Each employee must submit the employee application, found here: http://sfm.dps.louisiana.gov/doc/lic/PPE_Locksmith.pdf
The application must be accompanied by a digital picture saved to a CD in JPG format, along with a current (and valid) driver’s license.
The fee for this application is $100.
Each employee must also sign up for a fingerprint background check (see Step 3 above)
And last but not least each employee must provide a copy of certification, which can include the certifications listed in Step 4 above or the ALOA Six-Day Basic Locksmithing Course.
For more information, you can find the full Louisiana State Legislature here: https://www.legis.la.gov/legis/home.aspx
Leave a Reply