- Locksmith & Home Security Technician
- Getting a career diploma in as little as 5 months.
- Gain experience with practical exercises and interactive assignments.
- Learn how to identify, create, and duplicate keys.
- Learn to work with several types of locks including safes, valuts, and auto.
- and more...
North Carolina has done a great job of making it as simple as possible to obtain a locksmith license. They have created an official website called the North Carolina Locksmith Licensing Board.
However, while it is very straightforward there is quite a bit of information that the state of North Carolina requires to become fully licensed.
The Application Process
There are three (3) different applications available:
- Application for Apprentice License
- Application for Licensure
- Application for Renewal
Don’t let the first bullet point scare you. You’re not required to become an apprentice prior to obtaining your locksmith license.
For the purpose of this article, we’re going to assume you’re also not renewing your license (because if you were you’d know the process). So, your first step in obtaining your locksmith license is to download the application by clicking here.
After you’ve downloaded it you’ll want to use the checklist which includes the following 12 items:
- A copy of your legal resident documents (if you are not a US Citizen)
- A copy of any relevant license you hold in other states
- A copy of locksmith certifications
- A photograph which was taken within the last 3 months
- Fingerprint card completed by your local law enforcement agency
- Certified criminal history report from your county of residence and business (if both are different)
- Copy of your military discharge papers (if applicable)
- Notarized “authorization for release of records” form (found in the application)
- Completed and signed “authority for release of information” (found in the application)
- Fee in the amount of $338 (this includes all fees)
- Completed registration form
- Locksmith Examination
North Carolina is also one of the few states which require licensed locksmiths to have completed an examination administered by the Board. We recommend you purchase the study guide, which you can request when you turn in your application for $25.
The application and study guide request can be mailed to the following address:
North Carolina Locksmith Licensing Board
P.O. Box 10972
Raleigh, NC 27605
And that’s all she wrote for North Carolina!
William Fury says
I am a New Jersey Licensed Locksmith, Does North Carolina require a new exam if i do some volunteer work in North Carolina. ( helping families that were affected by Hurricane Matthew
I am also a member of the Burg. Fire & Locksmith Advisory Board for New Jersey.