Any individual or company that wants to practice locksmithing in the state of Tennessee must be licensed by the Tennessee Locksmithing Licensing Program.
The general requirements to be licensed in Tennessee are as follows:
- Submit a completed application
- Pay the application fee ($75)
- Provide fingerprints for a background check ($60)
- Provide criminal history
- Provide photos for an identification card
- Obtain at least 30 hours of basic locksmith training
- Take and pass the locksmith examination
- Pay the license fee ($25)
- Pay the identification card fee ($25)
The Application Process
You can download an application here: https://www.tn.gov/commerce/regboards/locksmiths.html
(The above link can also be used to locate approved training providers, which we’ll discuss more below)
Complete the application in its entirety. Ensure that three (3) sets of fingerprint cards are included in the application along with all applicable fees mentioned in the checklist above.
Once you submit the application you’ll need to complete the locksmith examination, which you can find at PSI Exams Online. Please note that if you can provide proof of five (5) years of locksmith experience you may be exempt from taking the examination.
After the Tennessee Locksmith Licensing Program is notified of your examination results they will get in contact with you to complete anything outstanding on your application. This process typically takes four (4) to six (6) weeks.
A Few Other Notes
License renewal is mandatory and occurs every two (2) years. In addition, you must make sure to submit at least twelve (12) hours of continuing education units (CEUs) to the Program or you may be in violation of your license.
For any more information about Tennessee legislature take a look at the Tennessee General Assembly website.