The first thing you should know about becoming a locksmith in Maryland is that only employers (or independents with no employees) require a license from the state.
If you are an employee of a locksmith company you will receive work authorization and an ID card through your employer.
The rest of this article will inform employers how to become a licensed locksmith in Maryland.
Maryland Locksmith Licensing Procedure
The business owner (or designee) must apply for a license using the following application.
Application Link: https://www.dllr.state.md.us/license/locksmiths/lockapply.shtml
The application itself will require the following:
- Be at least 18 years of age
- Include passport-size photographs of the owner and (all) employees
- Include a copy of a current (and valid) driver’s license of the owner and (all) employees
In addition to the application some other key requirements are:
- A fixed verifiable business address
- Proof of general liability insurance of at least $300,000
- Two sets of fingerprints (which will be used to submit to the state for a criminal background check)
- No conviction of a felony or misdemeanor relating locksmithing or security (if you have been convicted in the past your license will be at the discretion of the Maryland Board)
For more information, you can email the Maryland Division of Occupational and Professional Licensing at firstname.lastname@example.org.