- Locksmith & Home Security Technician
- Getting a career diploma in as little as 5 months.
- Gain experience with practical exercises and interactive assignments.
- Learn how to identify, create, and duplicate keys.
- Learn to work with several types of locks including safes, valuts, and auto.
- and more...
In order to become a locksmith in the state of Illinois there are several general requirements:
- Be at least 21 years of age (you may need to be 18 to be an employee only)
- Not convicted of a felony within the last 10 years
- Can not be dishonorably discharged from the armed services
- Successfully pass the Locksmith Licensure Examination
- Proof of insurance sufficient for the individual’s business circumstances (only required if you are the Owner)
The Application Process
The application for licensure can be found by clicking here.
Once you’ve read through the application you’ll find there are essentially 3 steps.
Access and complete the Locksmith Licensure Examination via the internet at www.continentaltesting.net.
There are an examination and licensure application fee of $167.
Note that this application is going to be for both the license and the exam.
Within 60 days of submitting the licensure application schedule a fingerprinting appointment by going to https://www.idfpr.com/LicenseLookUp/fingerprintlist.asp.
This is an electronic submission and the fee is usually $32.
You may also be required to submit to a criminal background check, which is usually done through the FBI. Fees are unknown for this, but typically it is around $17.
Submit the application and supporting documents to the Illinois Department of Financial and Professional Regulation (IDFPR).
It can take up to 6 weeks to obtain exam results. After the successful completion of the examination, you will be notified of the licensure fee.
Once you pay the final licensure fee and submit your proof of insurance (if you are the owner) then you are all done.