- Locksmith & Home Security Technician
- Getting a career diploma in as little as 5 months.
- Gain experience with practical exercises and interactive assignments.
- Learn how to identify, create, and duplicate keys.
- Learn to work with several types of locks including safes, valuts, and auto.
- and more...
The Department of Consumer Products maintains a responsible charge for licensing or registering locksmiths.
The general prerequisites are as follows:
- Be 18 years of age
- Complete a criminal history check request from the Connecticut State Police Bureau of Identification
- Complete the FBI Identification Record Information
The Application Process
Compared to other states the application process in
Connecticut is quite simple.
Print the application from the following link and fill it out: https://portal.ct.gov/DCP/License-Services-Division/All-License-Applications/Locksmith-Registration
The application is 5 pages in total, but there is only 1 page you actually have to fill out.
Make sure that you have a Notary Public present before you sign the application.
Complete the criminal history check request and the FBI Identification Record information.
Compile the documents from Steps 1 and 2 and include your registration fee ($200) payable to “Treasurer, State of Connecticut” and mail to:
State Police Bureau of Identification
1111 Country Club Road
Middletown, CT 06457
For further information, the entirety of the Connecticut Locksmith Law can be found in Chapter 400p at this link: https://www.cga.ct.gov/current/pub/chap_400p.htm