- Locksmith & Home Security Technician
- Getting a career diploma in as little as 5 months.
- Gain experience with practical exercises and interactive assignments.
- Learn how to identify, create, and duplicate keys.
- Learn to work with several types of locks including safes, valuts, and auto.
- and more...
If you are planning to become a locksmith in the state of Oklahoma you must abide by the Alarm and Locksmith Industry Act.
This act essentially stipulates that any individual or company looking to open or operate a locksmith business must meet the license requirements set forth by the Alarm and Locksmith Board.
The license requirements can be found in Subchapter 3, Section 380:75-3-1 of the Oklahoma legislature. Or, to make it a lot easier for you simply read our summary below.
Initial application fees will range from $125 to $250 depending on the time of the year.
Each applicant is required to supply or meet the following criteria:
- Current criminal history record check within 30 days of the
- Application from the Oklahoma State Bureau of Investigation
- Two (2) completed fingerprint cards
- Must be at least 21 years of age
- Not declared incompetent by any court of law
- Not been dishonorably discharged from the Armed Services of the United States
An application can be requested via the following address:
Oklahoma Department of Labor
3017 N Stiles, Suite 100
Oklahoma City, OK 73105
The full legislature can be found here for any other specific questions: https://www.ok.gov/odol/Safety_Inspections_&_Licensing/Alarm,_Locksmith,_&_Fire_Sprinkler_Program/index.html
The Electrical Licensing Act
If you by chance you are an electrical locksmith and plan to install or repair electrical locks or circuits of greater than 24 volts then you will also be required to obtain an additional license under the Electrical Licensing Act.
You can read more about that here (if it applies to you): http://cib.ok.gov/Websites/ciboard/images/DOCUMENTS/Rules-Laws/Act/Title%2059%20Electrical%20License%20Act.pdf
A Few Other Notes
If you are a trainee or would like to apply for a temporary license you can do so via the Department of Labor.
Also, keep in mind the license is only valid for 1 year and must be renewed.