- Locksmith & Home Security Technician
- Getting a career diploma in as little as 5 months.
- Gain experience with practical exercises and interactive assignments.
- Learn how to identify, create, and duplicate keys.
- Learn to work with several types of locks including safes, valuts, and auto.
- and more...
All locksmiths in Nebraska are required to maintain a valid registration certificate (or license) issued by the county clerk in which your business is located. As you’ll see below there are very few regulations in place to become a locksmith in Nebraska.
However, be aware that certain cities or counties may have additional requirements. In addition, if you are not opening your own business, but are rather planning to be an employee of another locksmith company then they may have separate criteria as well.
You can find a list of the county clerks at this link: https://sos.nebraska.gov/sites/sos.nebraska.gov/files/doc/records-management/local-government/schedule-12.pdf
When you visit your county clerk, be sure to bring (or know) the following:
- Be 18 years of age
- Name and social security number
- Business name
- Address of business
- Not convicted of any state laws (other than minor traffic violations)
- Three (3) references that can attest to your character, experience, and ability
- $5 for the certification fee
Compared to other states this may seem like a very small list of items required to get a locksmith license. To make the process go more smoothly, it’s recommended that you have the documents compiled in a folder and possibly accompanied by a resume.
For more information on Nebraska Legislature please visit https://nebraskalegislature.gov/