- Locksmith & Home Security Technician
- Getting a career diploma in as little as 5 months.
- Gain experience with practical exercises and interactive assignments.
- Learn how to identify, create, and duplicate keys.
- Learn to work with several types of locks including safes, valuts, and auto.
- and more...
Locksmithing in Mississippi tends to be a family affair, with at least one company’s history stretching back to the 60s.
However, suppose you intend to operate as a sole proprietor or general partnership.
In that case, you do not have to file with the Mississippi Secretary of State to open and run your locksmithing business.
While some Mississippi locksmiths receive formal training, most learn from family members or study online.
Table of Contents
Steps to Becoming a Locksmith in Mississippi
- Speak with local locksmiths about what training programs, if any, helped them most in their careers.
- Ask whether these locksmiths have an opening for a trainee, and count yourself blessed if they agree to hire you.
- Mississippi’s business regulations favor and support business formation by sole proprietors and general partnerships. Therefore, neither business entity must register with the Secretary of State’s Office. However, you should consult an attorney and an accountant to ensure that you select the right business type and follow applicable local, state, and federal tax laws.
- Decide whether to get licensed in neighboring Alabama or Louisiana.
- If you offer any roadside locksmithing service, contact AAA to become an approved provider.
- Buy a domain name, buy or create a website, have business cards designed, and advertise on social media.
- Create your About page, including headshots of yourself and any employees and short bios detailing certifications, licenses, and bonds.
- Ask for testimonials and referrals.
Licensing Requirements to Become a Mississippi Locksmith
Mississippi does not require a professional license to set up a locksmith’s shop, but its eastern neighbor, Alabama, and its western neighbor Louisiana do.
Consequently, if your business location is near these state lines, you may want to obtain licenses in the applicable state.
However, if you decide to do this, Louisiana requires locksmith businesses to maintain a fully-operational office within its state boundaries.
According to Carla Thornhill, Chief of Staff for Michael Watson, the Mississippi Secretary of State, legislation proposed in 2011 and 2012 to regulate locksmiths and require professional licenses failed.
Consequently, the city or county would have to enforce any professional standards.
Mississippi locksmiths make a $43,580 mean annual salary, paying $4,230 less per year than the national average.
This amounts to a lifetime income loss of $198,810 over 47 years, assuming you begin working at age 18 and retire at 65.
Once you have the training, you could move to one of the five highest-paying states: the District of Columbia, Wyoming, Hawaii, Nevada, and Massachusetts.
For example, you could receive a mean salary of $63.610 in the DC area, making as much as $941,410 more than in Mississippi over your working lifetime.
Locksmith Training Programs
Stratford Career Insitute
As of December 24, 2022, tuition for the course will cost $689.
The program runs 100 percent online, making it ideal for working adults.
However, because Stratford has no accreditation, some employers may not accept your diploma.
However, if you need career training that you can complete in six to 24 months, Stratford Career Institute’s locksmith program may be the right choice.
Penn Foster Career School
This accredited five-month program usually costs $1089 and includes all needed study materials.
However, if you pay in full instead of using the payment plan, you save $190.
You can start the program as young as age 17.
You will complete two projects during the six classes and take 19 exams.
The Distance Education Accrediting Commission accredits all Ashworth Career Diplomas, Career Certificates, and degrees.
Like at Penn Foster, the Ashworth College Locksmithing Career Diploma program takes about five months to complete and costs $1089 if you use the installment plan or $899 if paid in a single lump sum.
However, Ashworth’s tuition includes professional tools, among other course materials.
Alabama Locksmith Association
The five-day Beginner Locksmith Class session includes a hands-on test and a 150-question written exam.
The class costs $975 due one month before class begins, and includes your books: Call 205-552-8200 or email Barbara@locksmithala.org with your name, address, phone, and name of your company.
Mississippi Locksmith FAQs
Does Mississippi license its locksmiths?
But you can seek to license in neighboring Alabama and Louisiana.
What about the legislation from 2011 and 2012?
Those proposed regulations failed. Consequently, you can ignore them.
If I operate as a sole proprietor or general partnership, do I file anything with the Secretary of State?
No, but you will need an EIN.
Why is an accredited training program better?
First, suppose you intend to work in other states or pursue advanced degrees.
In that case, you should attend an accredited program, preferably one affiliated with the Associated Locksmiths of America or the Society of Professional Locksmiths.
Leave a Reply