- Locksmith & Home Security Technician
- Getting a career diploma in as little as 5 months.
- Gain experience with practical exercises and interactive assignments.
- Learn how to identify, create, and duplicate keys.
- Learn to work with several types of locks including safes, valuts, and auto.
- and more...
As in many other states, Utah does not license locksmiths.
However, unless you work under your legal name only, you must register your business, even if you organize it as a sole proprietorship.
You must file your registration with the Division of Corporations and Commercial Code within 30 days of your start date, meaning the first day you begin providing services.
Not filing could subject you to a penalty up to three times the filing fee typically charged and prevent you from taking any legal actions on behalf of your business.
Table of Contents
- Gaining a Professional Edge in Utah Locksmithing
- Steps to Becoming a Locksmith in the Beehive State
- Licensing Requirements for Utah Locksmiths
- Online and At-Home Training Programs for Utah Locksmiths
- In-Person Locksmithing Classes
Gaining a Professional Edge in Utah Locksmithing
Establishing trust between you and your customers begins with your level of professional conduct.
For example, by correctly registering your business.
You may also wear a uniform or have signage on your vehicle.
Utah requires you to provide your legal name, your DBA (doing business as) name, the location of your Utah place of business, and your home address.
The state also requires you to designate someone as your business representative in Utah, including yourself.
That person shall serve as the contact between state agencies and your business.
Your uniform could consist of a printed or embroidered emblem on a golf shirt and a pair of black work pants.
When you and your employees present a consistent appearance, your customers will feel more comfortable working with you.
As evidence, a Harris Interactive study found that 65 percent of the 2051 adult participants perceive companies as more trustworthy and reliable when their employees wear uniforms.
Research shows that people recall 97 percent of the messages they see on mobile outdoor billboards, such as car wraps and magnetic company logos.
Consequently, painting or wrapping your fleet with the company name, logo, or badge improves recognition and customer trust.
If you prefer not to have permanent signage, you could use a magnetic door sign or removable car topper.
Steps to Becoming a Locksmith in the Beehive State
- Decide how you will organize your business: sole proprietorship, general or limited partnership, limited liability company, or corporation.
- Use the Business Name Availability search tool to discover whether someone is already using your intended name.
- Create a name that no one else currently uses in Utah.
- Register your business.
- Find a master locksmith in Utah willing to make you an apprentice or take locksmith courses taught by a master locksmith in person or online.
- Become a journeyman locksmith in Utah or graduate with a 70 percent or higher score from an introductory locksmith course.
- Continue working with a master locksmith in Utah until you become a master yourself.
- Open your own Utah locksmithing and safe repair shop.
- Adhere to the highest possible industry standards of expertise and ethics while operating your locksmith business.
Licensing Requirements for Utah Locksmiths
Utah does not require locksmiths to obtain any licensing.
Across the United States, locksmiths garner a mean annual salary of $47,810.
Utah locksmiths earn $43,160, a deficit of $218,550 over their working lifetime (ages 18 to 65).
However, once you gain sufficient expertise in your field, you could head off to one of the top five locations with the highest annual mean wages: the District of Columbia, Wyoming, Hawaii, Nevada, or Massachusetts, where you can earn between $63,610 (DC) to .$59,480 (Massachusetts).
These five locations will provide $2,989,670 to $2,795,560 in additional income over your working lifetime.
If you find moving far from home daunting, Nevada might make a good choice.
However, every county has professional requirements for locksmiths, so contact your local sheriff’s office to apply there.
Online and At-Home Training Programs for Utah Locksmiths
Accelerated Training Institute
The Locksmithing 101 course costs $2,497.00.
It requires one to 12 months.
However, the course does qualify students as licensed locksmiths.
For that, you need to follow Utah’s business laws and regulations.
Stratford Career Institute
SCI’s Locksmith Training career program provides a genuine bargain at $689 if paid in a lump sum or $989 if you opt for the payment program.
In addition, as a United States Distance Learning Association member, SCI adheres to the 87 USDLA QS Standards of Practice.
In-Person Locksmithing Classes
American Center for Locksmith Training
The five-day comprehensive Certified General Locksmith class for beginners costs $1500 and qualifies students for a Basic Locksmith Certification.
The Locksmith Business course costs another $1000.
You have to bring a laptop to class and will learn to build a website.
For an additional $1000, you could also opt for the Safe and Vault Servicing course.
Leave a Reply